उत्तरदायित्व वक्तव्य

निदेशक बोर्ड एतदद्वारा उल्लेख करता है कि:

- वार्षिक लेखे तैयार करते समय लागू लेखा मानकों का समुचित अनुपालन किया गया है और उससे विचलन की स्थिति में समुचित स्पष्टीकरण दिया गया है;
- ii. उन्होंने ऐसी लेखा नीतियों का चयन एवं निरंतर प्रयोग किया है और ऐसे निर्णय लिए हैं तथा प्राक्कलन किए हैं, जो 31 मार्च 2011 को बैंक के कार्यकलाप और उक्त दिनांक को समाप्त वर्ष हेतु बैंक के लाभ एवं हानि की सही एवं निष्पक्ष स्थिति दर्शाने के लिए पर्याप्त एवं विवेक सम्मत हैं;
- iii. उन्होंने बैंक की आस्तियों की सुरक्षा करने और धोखाधड़ी तथा अन्य अनियमितताओं को रोकने और उनका पता लगाने के लिए बैंककारी विनियमन अधिनियम, 1949 और भारतीय स्टेट बैंक अधिनियम, 1955 के प्रावधानों के अनुसार पर्याप्त लेखा रिकार्ड रखने हेतु समुचित एवं पर्याप्त सावधानी बरती है; और
- iv उन्होंने वार्षिक लेखों को वर्तमान और भावी सतत अपेक्षाओं के अनुसार तैयार किया है।

आभार

वर्ष के दौरान श्री एस. के. भट्टाचार्य, प्रबंध निदेशक (धारा 19 (ख)) के अंतर्गत 31 अक्तूबर 2010 को सेवानिवृत्त होने के कारण बैंक के बोर्ड में निदेशक नहीं रहे। इसके अलावा भारतीय स्टेट बैंक अधिनियम, 1955 की धारा 20 (3क) में संशोधन करके, भारत सरकार द्वारा धारा 19 (घ) के अंतर्गत नामित निदेशकों का कार्यकाल तीन वर्ष तक सीमित करने का नियम 15 सितंबर 2010 से लागू करने के कारण डॉ. देवा नंद बालोधी और प्रो. मो. सलाहुद्दीन अंसारी उस दिनांक से केंद्रीय बोर्ड के निदेशक नहीं रहे। भारत सरकार के नामिती श्री अशोक चावला 31 जनवरी 2011 को सेवानिवृत्त होने के कारण केंद्रीय बोर्ड के निदेशक नहीं रहे। डॉ. (श्रीमती) वसंता भरुचा का केंद्रीय बोर्ड के निदेशक के रूप में तीन वर्ष का कार्यकाल 24 फरवरी 2011 को समाप्त हो गया। श्री ओ. पी. भट्ट, अध्यक्ष अधिवर्षिता आयु पूर्ण होने के कारण 31.03.2011 को कार्य दिवस की समाप्ति पर सेवानिवृत्त हो गए।

श्री जी. डी. नडाफ दिनांक 4 नवंबर 2010 से बोर्ड में धारा 19 (गख) के अंतर्गत अधिकारी कर्मचारी निदेशक के रूप में नामित किए गए। श्री शशिकांत शर्मा दिनांक 18 फरवरी 2011 की अधिसूचना के द्वारा धारा 19 (ङ) के अंतर्गत श्री अशोक चावला के स्थान पर सरकार द्वारा नामिती निदेशक के रूप में नामित किए गए। श्री रशपाल मल्होत्रा दिनांक 10 मई 2011 से बोर्ड में धारा 19 (घ) के अंतर्गत केंद्र सरकार द्वारा नामित किए गए।

निदेशक, बोर्ड की चर्चाओं में श्री ओ. पी. भट्ट, श्री एस. के. भट्टाचार्य, डॉ. देवा नंद बालोधी, प्रो. मो. सलाहुद्दीन अंसारी, श्री अशोक चावला तथा डॉ. (श्रीमती) वसंता भरुचा द्वारा दिए गए योगदान की सराहना करते हैं। साथ ही बोर्ड में श्री जी. डी. नडाफ, श्री शशिकांत शर्मा तथा श्री रशपाल मल्होत्रा का स्वागत करते हैं।

निदेशकों ने भारत सरकार, भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक, सेबी, आईआरडीए और अन्य सरकारी एवं नियामक एजेंसियों से प्राप्त मार्गदर्शन एवं सहयोग के लिए भी अपनी कृतज्ञता प्रकट की है।

निदेशकों ने सभी महत्वपूर्ण ग्राहकों, शेयरधारकों, बैंकों एवं वित्तीय संस्थाओं, शेयर बाजारों, रेटिंग एजेंसियों और अन्य हितधारकों को भी उनके संरक्षण एवं सहयोग के लिए धन्यवाद दिया है और बैंक के कर्मचारियों की समर्पित एवं प्रतिबद्ध टीम की उन्होंने सराहना की है।

केन्द्रीय निदेशक बोर्ड के लिए और उनकी ओर से, **प्रतीप चौधरी** दिनांक : 17 मई, 2011 अध्यक्ष

RESPONSIBILITY STATEMENT

The Board of Directors hereby states :

- that in the preparation of the annual accounts, the applicable accounting standards have been followed along with proper explanation relating to material departures;
- that they have selected such accounting policies and applied them consistently and made judgements and estimates as are reasonable and prudent, so as to give a true and fair view of the state of affairs of the Bank as on the 31st March 2011, and of the profit and loss of the Bank for the year ended on that date;
- iii. that they have taken proper and sufficient care for the maintenance of adequate accounting records in accordance with the provisions of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 and State Bank of India Act, 1955 for safeguarding the assets of the Bank and preventing and detecting frauds and other irregularities; and
- iv. that they have prepared the annual accounts on a going concern basis.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

During the year, Shri S.K. Bhattacharyya, Managing Director, (under section 19(b)) ceased to be a director on the Bank's Board consequent to his superannuation on 31st October 2010. Further, consequent to the amendment to Section 20(3A) of SBI Act, 1955 restricting the term of office of Directors nominated under section 19(d) by Govt. of India to three years coming into force with effect from 15th September 2010, Dr. Deva Nand Balodhi and Prof. Md. Salahuddin Ansari ceased to be directors from the Central Board as on that date. Shri Ashok Chawla, Govt. Nominee, ceased to be a director on the Bank's Central Board consequent to his superannuation on 31st January 2011. Dr. (Mrs.) Vasantha Bharucha's term of three years, as Director on the Central Board, ended on 24th February 2011. Shri O.P. Bhatt, Chairman, retired on attaining superannuation, as at the close of business on 31.03.2011.

Shri G.D. Nadaf was nominated to the Board under Section 19 (cb) with effect from 4th November 2010 as Officer Employee Director. Shri Shashi Kant Sharma was nominated as Govt. Nominee Director, under Section 19(e), vide Notification dated 18th February 2011 vice Shri Ashok Chawla. Shri Rashpal Malhotra was nominated to the Board under Section 19(d) with effect from 10th May 2011 by Central Govt.

The Directors place on record their appreciation of the contribution made by Shri O.P. Bhatt, Shri S.K. Bhattacharyya, Dr. Deva Nand Balodhi, Prof. Md. Salahuddin Ansari, Shri Ashok Chawla & Dr. (Mrs.) Vasantha Bharucha to the deliberations of the Board and welcome Shri G.D. Nadaf, Shri Shashi Kant Sharma and Shri Rashpal Malhotra on the Board.

The Directors also express their gratitude for the guidance and cooperation received from the Government of India, RBI, SEBI, IRDA and other government and regulatory agencies.

The Directors also thank all the valued clients, shareholders, banks and financial institutions, stock exchanges, rating agencies and other stakeholders for their patronage and support, and take this opportunity to express their appreciation of the dedicated and committed team of employees of the Bank.

> For and on behalf of the Central Board of Directors

Date : 17th May, 2011

Pratip Chaudhuri Chairman